An Explanation of the Name

First off, a warm welcome to my mom and the 5 or 6 other Facebook friends who might read this!

Any of you who are not in my immediate family might be wondering about the title. You’ve probably deduced that I am Aunt Coco, and you might be wondering why I’m going by that name. Or maybe you’re not. It doesn’t really matter, though, because I’m going to explain it regardless of whether you want to know or not.

I have two nieces, ages 11 and 3. Aside from the fact that that’s the reason for the “Aunt” part of the title, it’s probably best to be up front about that, because I talk about them a lot. No, seriously. I mean, a lot. They are the smartest, sweetest, most beautiful girls in the entire world, and I am not biased in saying that at all.

When the 11-year-old was born, several members of my family picked non-traditional titles for her to call them. For example, my grandmother became GG (for great-grandma) and my grandfather, whom my siblings and cousin and I had always called Boppy, became G-Bop (for, you guessed it, great-Boppy). As my niece learned to talk, she developed some of her own nicknames for other members of the family, but I never got one. I was always just Aunt Natalie. Then one day, when she was about 3 or 4 years old, out of the blue, just because it struck her as funny, she called me Aunt Coco. Despite my wildly inconsistent encouragement, it never caught on as a permanent thing, but she will still sometimes refer to me as Aunt Coco and encourage her younger sister to do the same. So Aunt Coco I am to them, and Aunt Coco I will be to the world.

And as for the loco part? I’m pretty sure both of the girls would tell you it’s true, and I’m also pretty sure that you’ll have ample evidence to draw the same conclusion yourself if you continue to visit here whenever I sporadically decide to write something.

Enjoy, and thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “An Explanation of the Name

Leave a Reply

